Font Size

County Commissioners

The job of the county commissioner calls for hands-on service delivery as well as policy-making budget decisions. 

Three Commissioners, elected at large and each representing one third of the county's population serve Hettinger County. In addition to assuring that county roads are maintained, Commissioners vote to set the budget for all county departments and adopt a tax rate.

Among other responsibilities, the Commissioners:

  •  Set the yearly property tax rate and approves the budget and employment level for the county.
  •  Set Commissioner and Justice of the Peace precinct boundaries.
  •  Call, conduct and certify elections, including bond elections.
  •  Set employment and benefit policy.
  •  Establish long-range thoroughfare, open space, land use, financial and law enforcement/jail needs plans. 
  • Acquire property for rights-of-way or other uses determined to be in the public's best interest.
  •  Review and approve subdivision platting and wastewater treatment for rural areas.
  •  Provide rural ambulance services and subsidizes rural fire protection.
  •  Oversee the construction, maintenance and improvement of county roads and bridges. 
  • Appoint non-elected department heads and standing committees.
  •  Supervise and control the county courthouse, county buildings and facilities of the county. 
  • Adopt a county budget.
  •  Determine county tax rates. 
  • Fill vacancies in elective and appointive positions.
  •  Has exclusive authority to authorize contracts in the name of the county. 

Planning & Zoning
Members:                                                                                                        HETTINGER COUNTY LAND USE REGULATION
Tom Geerts                                                                                                     GRAIN BIN PERMIT
Brad Olson                                                                                                      ND COUNTY ROAD/BRIDGE HANDBOOK
Keith Witte                                                                                                     PLANNING AND ZONING BUILDING PERMIT
Elliott Finck                                                                                                     SPECIAL OR CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT
Troy Mosbrucker                                                                                         VARIANCE OR APPEAL APPLICATION
Carson Kouba
Jim Haberstroh                                                                                                            

Weed Board
Weed Officer: Ben Auch 701-260-1398
Members:                                                                                                               WEED COMPLAINT FORM                            
Cade Blickensderfer, Chairman                                                                2024 ND WEED CONTROL GUIDE
Mike Madler, Vice Chair                                                                                INVASIVE AND TROUBLESOME WEEDS
Dylan Witte
Bob Carlson
Kevin Miller
Heidi Marxen 
Devan Laufer                                                                                 

Hettinger County Commission
Todd Lutz - 701-563-7216
Devan Laufer- CHAIR - 701-928-0100
Tom Geerts - 701-928-0498

 2024 Hettinger County Annual Budget Document - PRELIMINARY - click here