Font Size

Social Services

Direct Service Locations

Delivering human services involves a partnership between the department, Human Service Zones (formerly county social service offices), and private service providers. The administrative arm of the department receives and distributes funds for human service needs, provides direction and technical assistance, sets standards, conducts training of county staff, manages the computerized eligibility systems, and provides program supervision to county employees.

About 83 percent of the department's staff are based at direct service locations (the North Dakota State Hospital, Life Skills and Transition Center, the eight regional human service centers, the eight regional child support offices, and regional vocational rehabilitation offices). The local county offices of the 19 Human Service Zones are also important local service providers.

To locate direct services near you, click on the appropriate headings below.

Human Service Zones - Local Offices (formerly county social service offices)
Are the first point of contact for individuals and families who need economic assistance, child welfare services, supportive services for individuals who are elderly or have a disability, Medicaid, or help locating other local resources and programs.
Life Skills and Transition Center (Grafton, N.D.)
Is a state-operated, comprehensive support agency for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and was formerly named the N.D. Developmental Center
Regional Human Service Centers (Bismarck, Devils Lake, Dickinson, Fargo, Grand Forks, Jamestown, Minot, and Williston, N.D., with outreach offices in Grafton, Rolla and Valley City)
Provide help to individuals and families with concerns including behavioral health needs, disabilities, and other needs.
State Hospital (Jamestown, N.D.)
Provides specialized psychiatric and substance abuse services for individuals whose needs exceed the resources and capacity of other community services
Regional Vocational Rehabilitation Offices (Bismarck, Devils Lake, Dickinson, Fargo, Grand Forks, Jamestown, Minot, and Williston, N.D.)
Assist North Dakotans with disabilities to improve their employment opportunities and assist North Dakota businesses in finding solutions to their disability-related issues

Human Service Zones (formerly known as County Social Service Offices)


Individuals may also use the client portal to submit new economic assistance applications or verifications for benefit renewal.

  • Learn more about applying for assistance online and watch helpful videos about applying online for financial help and managing your public assistance notifications, etc. visit

The Human Service Zones' local offices in the counties (formerly known as county social service offices) have professionals on site who can help people who need these services and supports: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP/Food Stamps), Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), heating assistance, Medicaid, including children's health services; basic care assistance; child care assistance; child welfare (foster care, child protection services); and referrals to other local resources and programs. The "Host County" in a Human Service Zone is responsible for the administrative functions (payroll, other HR functions, etc.) in the zone and is marked with a star.

Divide County Burke County Renville County Bottineau County Rolette County Towner County Cavalier County Pembina County Pierce County Mchenry County Ward County Mountrail County Williams County Mckenzie County Dunn County Mclean County Mercer County Sheridan County Oliver County Benson County Wells County Kidder County Burleigh County Stark County Billings County Golden Valley Morton County Slope County Bowman County Hettinger County Adams County Grant County Sioux County Emmons County McIntosh County Logan County Eddy County Foster County Stutsman County LaMoure County Dickey County Sargent County Ransom County Richland County Cass County Barnes County Griggs County Steel County Traill County Grand Forks County Nelson County Ramsey County Walsh County

Human Service Zones - Local Offices (formerly county social service offices)

Roughrider North Human Service Zone

Serving Billings, Dunn, Golden Valley, Hettinger and Stark counties

Director: Diane Mortenson (based in the Dickinson office)

Hettinger County office
309 Millionaire Avenue
Mott, ND 58646
Phone: (701) 824-3276
Fax: (701) 824-2820
TTY: (701) 824-2820

Hours: M - F, 8:00 to 5:00 Mountain Time

Contact information

Hettinger County Social Services
309 Millionaire Ave
Mott, ND 58646

Office hours:
M-Thurs 7:30-12:00 & 12:30-5:00
Friday 8:00-12:00

Phone: 701-824-3276
Fax: 701-824-2820